Broken Bank Notes Message Board

Forum for Obsolete Currency Discussions
It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 5:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:24 am 
Site Admin

I'm preparing to deliver a speech to my Toastmasters club next week on the subject of Colonial and Continental Currency. Well, it's really about how protracted war and hyperinflation go hand in hand, with a cautionary message to the modern audience regarding our own situation. In any event, I invite the readers of this board to download and review the PowerPoint file I will be using, and post any comments you have here.

-Greg

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 6:08 pm 

Greg,

It would be nice to know how much time you have. I tend to use about 1 slide per minute. However, my slides tend to be “denser” than yours. I presume you will verbally fill in more details between the lines.

Given the above caveats and that I am not an expert in this field, here are some comments:

Slide 1: The title “What Passes As Current Lessons Learned from Colonial Currencies.” I presume that this is the whole title. That is, the second line is not a secondary title? If so, the whole title should have the same size letters. Also, a question mark should follow the title?

I would add a slide after slide 2. This slide would take one note that is blown up and shows greater detail. I would use arrows (with text boxes) that would point to various aspects of the note, e. g. “death to counterfeiters”, maybe Franklin’s signature, his anti-counterfeit attempts using leaves, an unusual (for today) denomination, the beginning of crude vignettes, plates engraved by Paul Revere, etc. Also showing the back would be nice. I think that any audience would be interested in these 220 year old details, especially since things have not changed that much.