Broken Bank Notes Message Board

Forum for Obsolete Currency Discussions
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:39 pm 

Hello folks, I was recently told that my tiny little town of Wappingers Falls, New York, issued Nationals. But...only 4 are known.

I have a couple questions about them:

The first is, why only 4? Are the rest missing, were few printed? Or, were they destroyed somehow?

Does anyone have a scan of one of the 4?

What would one of these cost me, were it to come onto the market today?

Where did the 4 known come from? I am wondering if they were found locally or not.

I would actually like to write a small article for the local newspaper and see if maybe some more might be found that way.

I am just plain fascinated by the fact that my little town had a national bank, let alone issued banknotes!

Sorry for the barrage of questions in my second ever post, but I'm new at this and don't know a whole lot!

Thanks, Billy

PS, sorry if this is in the wrong place!

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:58 am 

Billy,

The reason it took so long to respond is that this board concentrates on "obsolete" notes, which predated the national banking system for the most part. You might try pcgscurrency.com's forums -- there are lots of experts over there.

That said, I'll take a crack, even though it's outside my expertise.